IRCU is constituted by; the Roman Catholic Church (RCC), the Church of the Province of Uganda (COU), the Uganda Orthodox Church (UOC), the Uganda Muslim Supreme Council (UMSC), the Seventh-day Adventist Uganda Union (SDAUU), the Born Again Faith in Uganda (BAF) and the National Alliance of Pentecostal and Evangelical Churches in Uganda (NAPECU).

IRCU also works with the Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’i, the Methodist and Lutheran Churches.

Seventh-Day Adventist Church

The Seventh-day Adventist Church constitutes 1.5% of the population in Uganda taking care over 2 million souls. Structures include;

  • 9 regional governance structures/ dioceses

  • 296 primary schools

  • 98 secondary schools

  • 09 Vocational Institutions

  • 1 University - Bugema University

  • 1 Hospital - Ishaka Adventist Hospital

  • 19 clinics and Dispensaries throughout the country

  • 3 radio stations e.g. Prime Radio, Ebenezer FM and Maranasa FM

  • 2714 congregations

  • 1 Television station (3ABN)

Pr. Daniel Matte

President of the Seventh-day Adventist Uganda Union 2014 to date 2014 to date Visit Website

Church of the Province of Uganda

Church of Uganda has 35.9% followers out of Uganda’s population of 34.5 million people. The Church has been complementing government programs since 1877.
Church of Uganda has the following institutions;

  • 34 Dioceses

  • 213 Hospitals and health centers e.g Mengo hospital and Uganda Protestant Medical Bureau.

  • 6 Universities namely Uganda Christian University, and Ndejje University among others

  • 5118 Primary schools

  • 460 Secondary schools

  • 50 Post-Secondary/vocational schools

  • 600 Archdeaconries

  • 4,000 Parishes

  • 2,500 Sub-parishes or congregations

  • 1 Radio station

  • Other institutions include Uganda Bookshop, Nabugabo holiday center, Centenary Publishing, Social centers, Babies homes etc.

His Grace the Most Rev. Stanley Ntagali

Archbishop Church of Uganda 2013 to date 2013 to date Visit Website

Uganda Episcopal Conference

The Catholic Church in Uganda constitutes 41. 9% of Uganda’s population. The Uganda Episcopal Conference is the Assembly of the Catholic Hierarchy in Uganda, constituted with the approval of the Holy See where Bishops express their collegial responsibility through collective action, to assure the progress of the Church and coordination of its social and pastoral ministry. The Episcopal Conference of Uganda was .The Episcopal Conference of Uganda was founded in 1960.

  • 19 Dioceses

  • 500 parishes

  • 36 hospitals e.g. Rubaga Hospital, St Raphael of St Francis Nsambya Hospital, Our Lady Consolata, Kisubi Hospital, and Nkozi Hospital

  • 286 health centers

  • 4,781 primary schools

  • 582 secondary schools

  • 148 Technical/Vocational Institutions

  • 4 Universities e.g. Uganda Martyrs University Nkozi

  • 1 Bank i.e Centenary Bank

  • 7 Radio stations e.g Radio Serpentia, Radio Maria, Radio wa, Radio Kyoga Veritas etc

His Grace Dr. Cyprian Kizito Lwanga

Archbishop, Kampala Archdiocese 2005 to date 2005 to date Visit Website

Uganda Muslim Supreme Council (UMSC)

Uganda Muslim Supreme Council (UMSC) is the mother organization and governing body of all Muslims in Uganda with 12.1% of the Ugandan Population.. The Body unifies about 9,071,671 Muslims in Uganda. UMSC’s institutions include;

  • 7290 Mosques

  • 5 hospitals

  • 4 health center IV

  • 30 Health Center III

  • 22 Health Center II

  • 6 Post-Secondary Institutions

  • 5 Universities e.g. Islamic University in Uganda

  • 1114 Primary Schools

  • 1 Uganda Muslim Medical Bureau

  • 130 Secondary schools

  • 4 radio stations

His Eminence Sheikh Shaban R. Mubaje

Mufti of Uganda, Uganda Muslim Supreme Council 2002 to date 2002 to date Visit Website

Uganda Orthodox Church

The Uganda Orthodox Church constitutes of 0.1% approximately 300,000 to 400,000 followers. Its other institutions include;

  • 9 Deaneries

  • 90 key worship places (Churches)

  • 65 Religious leaders i.e. 1 Bishop, 56 Parish priests and 8 Deacons

  • 18 health centers i.e. 17 outreach clinics and one hospital

  • 99 Educational Institutions i.e. 50 pre-primary schools, 26 primary schools, 15 secondary schools, and 8 post-secondary schools.

His Eminence Metropolitan Jonah Lwanga

The Archbishop of Uganda Orthodox Church 2002 to date 2002 to date

Born Again Faith

Under the slogan Many Parts, One Body, the Born Again Faith (BAF) in Uganda is an organization that gathers all member churches collectively to cause teamwork among the fragmented Born Again Faith Churches.

BAF has coordinating offices classified as the Central, Eastern, Northern and Western provinces, which cover Ankole, Bukedi, Busosga, Karamoja, Kigezi, Kitara, Lango-Acholi, North Buganda, Rwenzori, South Buganda, Teso and West Nile regions.

Apostle Dr. Joseph Serwadda

President, Born Again Faith in Uganda 2015 to date 2015 to date Visit Website

The National Alliance of Pentecostal and Evangelical Churches of Uganda

The National Alliance of Pentecostal and Evangelical Churches of Uganda (NAPECU) is an umbrella network of Pentecostal churches, Para-church organizations and missionary organizations operating in Uganda. It is registered with the Government of Uganda, and is a non-denominational and politically non-partisan institution.

The alliance exists primarily as a voice for its membership and to support and nurture the effective growth and development of the Pentecostal movement. The largest percentage of the current membership comprises of indigenous ministries.

Bishop Joshua Lwere

General Overseer of the National Alliance of Pentecostal and Evangelical Churches of Uganda Associate 2015 to date 2015 to date Visit Website

Share this

IRCU 2019 Theme

Putting the youth at the center of our work